5 Reasons You Need a Newsletter

15aa8dybhsise1293099709I am a hoarder of magazines, article clippings and Top 5/10/12 blog posts. You know, the ones that are titled something like “Five Reasons You Should Blah Blah Blah.” I can’t help it. I was born that way. I like my news in digestible bites. Maybe this comes from my upbringing as a reporter, where I was taught that if you can’t articulate your main point on a matchbook, than you don’t have a thought at all. Well said, whoever said that. Without further verbiage, here are my (and other experts’) reasons for a newsletter.

1. We are kind of lazy. Yes, of course there is Facebook and blogs and RSS feeds and your website and walkie-talkies, but nothing is easier for the semi-curiosity seeker than one click on the email that arrives in their inbox. They don’t have to go backpacking the hills and valleys of the wild web to find you or your latest tingamabopper. No, not thingamabopper.
2. Because Brian Clark (well, one of his lovely writers) says that you should own some of your own content so that your content is safe from rich, web landowners. For example, it would suck if Mr. Zuckerburg decided he’s done playing Internet god for the decade, took his site and went home. Or if he decided that he owned your content! And of course, he does.
3. Regularity is rad. Imagine I am your customer. I sit in front of my email every day for hours a day. I am very picky about what I allow in my inbox, banishing many emails to my spam folder. But there are some newsletters I receive, where the subject line sings and the inside is pretty and clever and pointed. I like seeing these in my inbox. They are like friends. I click on them. I miss them when they don’t come, and send them to spam if they come too much. (This is why you need an expert.) Did I mention that I write newsletters? (read in an English accent, please)
4. Matchbooks are too small. I think I might have mentioned something about matchbooks in my first graph up there. While I hail the matchbook-length idea, it is quite naked on its own. Since the beginning of upright humanoids, man has loved a good story. It’s hard to tell the whole story on twitter. Well, you can, but you have to be a very patient person. When I think of memorable stories, I think brands like Tom’s Shoes and Howard Stern. One’s a do-gooder and the other an under-dog. Makes me want to sprint into Howard’s arms wearing my new comfortable canvas shoes.
5. This is by far the most important one…  because I am pretty freaking good at writing them – well, some of them. Some newsletters aren’t my cup of tea, like those that are filled with robot names. I’m good with robot faces, but not names. Others, however, are my vodka and ginger ale. Like the ones I wrote for Yelp  and for my client now. Don’t know where to get started? Talk to me… I’ll figure it out for you.

Leave a Reply

